Tiffany Diamond Engagement Rings Review

tiffanys engagement rings 6 prong solitaire

The Tiffany engagement ring is a classic design that exudes simplicity and elegance.

In 1886, the world of engagement rings forever changed when Tiffany & Co. introduced their revolutionary Tiffany® Setting, a 6-prong solitaire ring design.

At that time, prong settings were unheard of because diamonds were usually set in bezel settings. Yet, this innovative ring design not only offered a secure mounting, it also raised the diamond higher in the setting and allowed more light to pass through for better brilliance.

Till this day, the Tiffany ring setting and its symbolic turquoise blue box makes Tiffany & Co. one of the most recognizable brand in the jewelry industry. As a testament to their success, most of the solitaire ring designs you see in the current market are actually “inspired” from the original Tiffany Setting.

In this review of Tiffany & Co, we will solely focus on their diamond engagement rings and reveal some of the shocking findings we discovered.

Whether you want to shop in a branded jewelry boutique store or want to shop online, it pays to do prior research. Make sure you read our proven step-by-step method of choosing a diamond. I guarantee it’ll save you money and help you make smarter purchasing decisions.

So, What Makes A Tiffany Diamond?

tiffany sales brochure

A Tiffany Diamond Ring: The Gemological Standards For Superlative Brilliance

Unknown to many people, Tiffany pre-screens their diamonds in order to maintain a level of consistency in their selections. Now, this is a common practice that can be found in many other branded jewelry stores like Cartier and Harry Winston as well.

Based on the information I garnered from their sales brochures and their sales representatives, the worst diamond quality that Tiffany carries in-store is I color and SI1 clarity.

Speaking from a gemological perspective, I want you to understand that there’s nothing wrong with diamonds in the lower color grades. In fact, it is a matter of personal preference and tastes. I know many readers in the western countries actually prefer to wear warm colored diamonds (e.g. J or K colored). And if you happen to be one of these people, you probably can’t find something of your liking at Tiffany.

Besides color and clarity, Tiffany also takes into account some other factors when filtering their diamonds. For example, if a diamond is deemed to have “strong” or “very strong” fluorescence, the stone is automatically rejected by their grading labs .

Personally, I find fluorescence to be an awesome gemological property and I absolutely love diamonds with fluorescence. However, I do understand Tiffany’s stand to “err on the side of caution” rather than to sell diamonds that may look milky/hazy due as a result of fluorescence.

Even though Tiffany may choose to sell diamonds with better color/clarity, it doesn’t make the cut quality of their diamonds necessarily better than diamonds you can get from other jewelers.

Did You Know That Tiffany Grades Their Own Diamonds?!!

eyes popping out

Yikes! When buying diamonds, the grading report is an important piece of document because it tells you the quality of the diamond you are paying for. The shocking thing about Tiffany is that they grade their diamonds via an in-house laboratory.

If you had read my article on grading laboratories, you will know that I frown upon jewelers who use their own grading certificates instead of getting their diamonds graded at neutral 3rd party gemological labs like GIA or AGS. The reason is simple; you want an impartial opinion of the diamond’s properties from a lab where there is no conflict of interests.

Since Tiffany does not use external grading laboratories to grade their diamonds, there is no objective 3rd-party analysis of their diamond’s cut grading. Basically, Tiffany expects you to take them for their word on whatever they say about their diamonds. In contrast, two of the most reliable labs in the world, GIA and AGS, utilize well-vetted systems to assign diamond cut grades based on scientific studies.

To be fair, I personally find the grading standards of the Tiffany Diamond Certificate to be on-par and very consistent to GIA’s standards in terms of clarity and color grading.

Review Of Cut Quality In Tiffany’s Diamond Engagement Rings

prescence - an exclusive tiffany standard of integrity

Tiffany has an unusual “Presence” parameter listed in their grading certificates.
Do you understand all the jibber-jabble they use to describe “Presence” above? 

The most important factor which gives a diamond its sparkle lies in how well it was cut. On the whole, I would say that most of Tiffany’s diamonds are pretty well-cut and display a fairly consistent quality. The same is true even for the smaller side diamonds as well.

Note: I say “pretty-well” because Tiffany’s diamond cut quality isn’t the best and this is evident when you start scrutinizing details. In fact, the majority of Tiffany’s casting and craftsmanship would only be “above average” if you have a discerning eye.

I’m a diamond connoisseur. Whenever I shop for a diamond, I examine every single detail carefully to see if the stone meets my expectations. Since Tiffany charges exorbitant prices for their jewelry, it would only be fair to expect nothing but the best. Sadly, that’s NOT what you always get at Tiffany’s.

Look Out For Ratings Under The “Presence” Section In The Certificate

Check out the Tiffany Diamond Certificate for a 1.75 carats round brilliant cut diamond below. I want to bring your attention to the Polish and Symmetry ratings as indicated by the 2 red arrows. Did you notice that the diamond was rated only as “Very Good” for both its symmetry and polish?

very good polish and symmetry tiffany and ompany round cut

The best rating attainable for polish and symmetry in the Tiffany Gemological Laboratory is “Excellent”. If the cut quality standards at Tiffany is truly impeccable and the best of the best, there’s no way they would allow diamonds with “Very Good” ratings to get pass their quality control.

Sloppy Girdle Finishing You Should Beware Of

girdle finish bruted

While the finishing of the diamond’s girdle does not impact the way it reflects light, it is a tell-tale sign of how much effort really goes into the polishing process. Bruted girdles are a thing of the last century and it’s a huge shocker to see a premium brand like Tiffany selling such diamonds.

bruted girdle

Bruted diamond girdle at 40X – GIA

I’m seriously not a fan of bruted girdles and I hate it when the cutters leave a sloppy finish to the the diamond instead of taking a little extra time to touch up the girdle. Basically, it gives an incomplete look to the diamond because of its unsightly and raw appearance.

properly completed

Almost all diamonds you find in the market have a faceted girdle finishing.

Extremely Disappointing Selection Of Diamonds Available

If you have a large budget or want to buy a ring with popular diamond sizes like 1.00 carats, you would have a larger amount of options to cherry pick your diamond from. However, if you have a smaller budget or want to buy smaller sized diamonds, your options will be severely limited.

When I called Tiffany’s customer service hotline to make inquiries for a diamond ring with a G colored, 0.7 carats center stone, I was pretty disappointed by the outcome. As it turns out, there was only a single Tiffany solitaire ring with a G colored center stone available in the entire inventory of their US operations.

Here’s an excerpt of a follow-up email from the Diamond Sales Professional after my telephone call. I had set my budget at around $7,500 and requested information of available diamond rings around that price point.

================================================================

Based upon your inquiry for the Tiffany Setting, please view the following options from our Collection –

Carat .78 Color I Clarity VS2 $7,350.00

Carat .70 Color H Clarity VS1 $7,800.00

Carat .74 Color H Clarity VS2 $7,900.00

Carat .73 Color G Clarity VS2 $8,000.00

Carat .82 Color I Clarity VS1 $8,150.00

The above quotes are general pricing guidelines and all rings are subject to availability.

Tiffany engagement rings prices correct as of 27th Dec 2014 and are not inclusive of any local taxes. The diamonds come with varying standards in polish/symmetry which can range from ratings with Good to Excellent.

================================================================

The sales representative did offer a few other options for my consideration but they were all of lower color ratings. The point I want to make here is that you get extremely limited choices to choose from. Depending on how lucky you are, you may not even find a single option available.

   
   

Price Comparisons of Tiffany And Co Versus Our Recommended Vendors

Let’s do some price comparisons to see the huge disparity in prices and quality if you decide to shop elsewhere instead. Remember, I was quoted $8,150 for a 0.82 carats I color VS1 clarity diamond? Let’s see how much a similar ring with a more well-cut diamond will cost you at White Flash.

white flash versus tiffany and co engagement rings prices

platinum six prong solitaire engagement ring

Compared to the TIffany ring, a similar one at Whiteflash will only cost you: $3983 + $725 = $4,708

Mind you, I am comparing a top-of-the-line ideal cut round diamond from Whiteflash against those found at Tiffany and it is still significantly cheaper!

Prices of Tiffany Diamond Rings Versus Enchanted Diamonds

Here’s another comparison of Tiffany & Company against another of my recommended jeweler, Enchanted Diamonds. This time round, let’s use the 0.70 H color, VS1 clarity round diamond quoted to us by Tiffany for $7,800.00 for a comparison. Could you guess how much it would only cost if you decide to buy a similar ring from Enchanted Diamonds instead?

tiffany and co rings vs enchanted diamonds

six prong knife edge platinum setting

The total price you would have to pay for the ring at Enchanted Diamonds is only $3,010 + $1,100 = $4,110

In retrospect, that’s roughly half the price for a Tiffany diamond ring. If you are wondering why diamond rings from other jewelers are so much cheaper and better in quality, that’s because you are paying Tiffany for their brand name!

Sales/Return Policy & Upgrades

The return policies are only applicable if you made a purchase in the U.S. Any items (except for fragrance) can be return within 30 days for a credit or exchange with a valid sales receipt.

For Tiffany’s diamond rings, you can do an upgrade by trading in your old ring for a new one that’s at least 2 times of the original price. For example, if your old ring costs $5,000, your new purchase must be of at least $10,000 in value. The caveat here is that you must do the upgrade within 5 years and your old ring must be subjected to an appraisal by Tiffany’s certified gemologist.

Tiffany’s After Sales-Service

Like most other jewelers, Tiffany & Co. offers a lifetime of after-sales support for mundane stuff like free ring cleaning and other services (e.g. prong tightening, ring re-polishing). This may sound like a big deal but it really isn’t because you can easily get the same kind of services for free with any decent jeweler.

At this point, I also want to mention that ring cleaning can be easily performed at home with a toothbrush and soap water in under 5 minutes. The truth is, it is going to be a hassle and a waste of time to bring your ring down to a Tiffany store just to get it cleaned.

Since Tiffany doesn’t sell loose diamonds and you have to buy a diamond ring “off-the-rack”, the pre-mounted setting may not be in the exact finger size you need (the default ring size is 6). That said, it is possible to get a free complimentary ring sizing done within the first 90 days of purchase. Any subsequent ring resizing will be charged at a relatively expensive fee of $170 if you need to go up in size.

Conclusion of Our Tiffany And Co Engagement Rings Review

Beyond the intangible aspects of good customer shopping experience at Tiffany’s, you only get good (and NOT necessarily the best) quality products at extremely high prices. The truth is, there are many other places that can offer you better quality diamond products and merchandize than Tiffany’s.

However, I would concede that the sales environment and Tiffany experience is something that most other jewelers cannot replicate. After all, Tiffany is highly respected and had been around since 1837 (that’s more than 170 years!).

tiffany ring box

This tiny blue box packs a huge amount of prestige and history that few other jewelers can match.

Who Should Buy From Tiffany & Co.?

When it comes to buying premium products, it boils down to the value you place on a brand name. If the feel-good factor and the ability to tell everyone you bought your ring from Tiffany & Co. is important to you, I feel that Tiffany offers the most “prestigious” branding in jewelry and their prices are indicative of that.

However, if you want to get more bang for your buck and are willing to do a little homework, you can easily find a better quality diamond somewhere else with better terms and prices (about half the price of a Tiffany ring).

If you are looking for diamonds with the best-of-the-best cut qualityWhite Flash, Brian Gavin and Enchanted Diamonds are far better places to shop at. You not only get better quality at lower prices, you also get to enjoy better sales and trade-in policies.

Speaking from my personal point of view, a diamond is just a diamond. The branding that a company places on it doesn’t necessarily makes it better than others. I strongly encourage you to make your purchasing decisions based on tangible data and not blindly believing in marketing sales talk.

I think that it is ridiculous to pay 2 times more for a purchase when there are available options to buy a better quality diamond at significantly lower prices. But that’s just me. What do you think? Do leave a comment below! I would love to hear your own opinions about buying branded goods and why you think they are or aren’t worth it.

Related Articles

Tiffany And Co Engagement Rings Receives An Average Rating of 3/5 – Reviewed by Paul Gian

Sharing Is Caring ! Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0Share on Reddit0Share on StumbleUpon0

51 Comments

  1. Jamie-
    December 27, 2014 at 4:59 am

    I just came back from a visit to the New York Tiffany flagship store. Given the kind of prices they are charging and the poor customer service I experienced, I think they are a complete rip-off. I will never step foot into a Tiffany store again and would rather buy a Costco ring then to buy a Tiffany ring.

  2. Paul Gian-
    December 27, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your experience with the store. I personally visited quite a number of Tiffany stores in my local area and I find their service to be a mixed bag. Depending on how many people there are in the store and the kind of clothing I was wearing (was wearing shorts and sandals once), I personally experienced different levels of treatment from their sales staff.

    Also, I had heard of a number of Tiffany and Co complaints from readers as well in terms of their customer service. However, to be fair, there are always times where a company may slip up. It is normal regardless of how well known it is. If you want to get your complaint address, try contacting their customer relations directly and let them know about your case.

  3. question about tiffany and co engagement rings-
    December 29, 2014 at 8:14 am

    For the other tiffanys engagement rings, like the NOVO, SOLESTE®, EMBRACE and LEGACY designs, do you know whether the listed prices are worth it for their ring quality? You mentioned that tiffany and co rings have above average craftsmanship and does this apply to those designs as well?

  4. Zara-
    December 30, 2014 at 4:27 am

    Could you tell me if these prices of Tiffany and co rings are reasonable? Would you be able to offer any other recommendations?

    Carat 1.05 Color I Clarity VS2 $12,200.00
    Carat 1.01 Color I Clarity VS1 $12,700.00
    Carat 1.03 Color H Clarity VS2 $13,900.00
    Carat 1.14 Color I Clarity VS1 $14,600.00

  5. Paul Gian-
    December 30, 2014 at 8:49 am

    I think you can do your own comparisons here to convince yourself about the pricing.

    http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-3189857.htm

  6. April-
    January 3, 2015 at 5:51 am

    Why does a premium store like tiffany and company take trade ins and allow upgrades? I was seriously considering buying an engagement ring from them until I read about that policy here. Seems like there’s no way to know whether I am actually buying a used piece of jewelry in their store.

  7. Paul Gian-
    January 6, 2015 at 5:14 am

    It is in my understanding that Tiffany & Company never re-sells the traded in rings as new engagement rings. In fact, I posed this question to during my visit to a Tiffany and Co outlet. I was told that all traded in diamonds are cut down and used as accent diamonds in other pieces.

    In a way, if you are buying a solitaire diamond ring, you should be getting a “new” piece that’s unworn before. However, if you are buying Tiffany jewelry with sidestones, those may contain used diamonds. When you are in doubt, always check before committing to a purchase in store.

  8. Tiffany Sucks-
    January 15, 2015 at 9:03 pm

    I tried trading in my Tiffany Novo ring for an upgrade and I paid $8,000 for my initial purchase. After an evaluation by their gemologist, it was valued at $7,100 and I’m actually pretty angry with the evaluation. I thought my Tiffany jewelry would be able to hold their value. Instead, the trade in amount is so much less. Should I try to find my own buyer for the ring?

  9. Paul Gian-
    January 16, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    You could try Craigs List or eBay but I doubt you will be able to sell it at the original price you paid for. In terms of trade up policy, I think other companies do it better as they offer a 100% retention value. The appraised amount for your Tiffany ring is placed upon by their own in-house staff. So, in a way, there’s no control over what they deem they should “pay” for your ring. If you want to buy your jewelry at Tiffany’s, you need to play by their rules. It’s as simple as that.

  10. Constance Kaufman-
    January 16, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    Hello! I have a question that I have not been able to find an answer to about Tiffany’s policies. My grandson bought a Tiffany diamond engagement ring 3 1/2 years ago for his then fiance. Since they are no longer together my grandson has been thinking of ways to possibly sell the ring. It was brought to a fine jewelery store with all the papers, boxes, warranty, and of course the certificate. The diamond is a classic Tiffany platinum 6 prong set with one round brilliant cut diamond weighing 1.40 carats, H color, Internally Flawless clarity. The purchase price was $20.000. Upon close review, the very knowledgeable jeweler declared the diamond as far as he could tell, a ‘cut below’ everything on the Tiffany’s own certificate. In other words, it was not H in color but rather and I, it was also not IF, he could see small flaws with his loupe. He declared it VVS1. In the contract which the jeweler pointed out, it says Tiffany’s will refund your entire purchase price if their diamond is found to not be as promised in the certificate. Of course you must allow Tiffany’s to re-examine everything plus have an independent gemological lab examine it. My grandson plans to send the diamond to GIA for a certificate from them to bring to Tiffany’s. My question is…have you ever heard of this happening before and do you personally think that if the diamond turns out to not be as Tiffany’s said, do you think they will offer a full refund as their warranty says? Thank you so much for any information you might have on this.

  11. Paul Gian-
    January 22, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    Yes. I had heard of such cases before. DON’T let another jeweler un-mount the diamond first. If you suspect the grading to be false, let Tiffany re-examine the ring and see what their conclusion is.

    Thereafter, if you need a second opinion, you can take the risk of voiding the guarantee and send the diamond to GIA for an examination.
    Anyway, the damage could be due to wear and tear which may not be covered under their guarantee. You do need to tread carefully here.

  12. Michael-
    February 1, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    Paul, Tiffany’s says that it is not a real comparison to take the same grades for Clarity, Cut, Carat, Color and compare them across competitors because it doesn’t allow for the subjective values of Fire and Brilliance that one sees from the cut.

    Tiffany says their cut is maximized for this Fire and Brilliance and this is their differentiator.

    I read on your site that you also agree that Cut is the most important factor.

    I have found that even at Excellent cuts, polish and symmetry that the Fire may be different between diamonds, and this is what Tiffany is promoting.

    My question to you is how can I determine the subjective elements like the Fire or Brilliance of a diamond online, at a James Allen or other site? I have also found that these characteristics change based on a yellow gold vs. platinum shanks, and even changes being on my fiance’s hand vs. in the jewelry case.

    Are there elements in the cut, like the girdle, depth or table that contribute to this Fire quality that I can look for?

    Many thanks

  13. Paul Gian-
    February 1, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    I would like to make a small correction to what you mentioned. Brilliance for round diamonds can be measured objectively through the use of ray tracing technology and ASET. This technique is developed by AGS and is based on scientific evaluations which is well accepted in the scientific community. There are various papers published about the ASET in journals and you can easily find some references to these papers on AGS’s website.

    http://www.agslab.com/members/content/docs/Complete_Explanation_of_AGS_Cut_System.pdf

    For our readers’ convenience, I had also taken the trouble of consolidating some data here:

    https://beyond4cs.com/2014/12/aset-reference-charts/

    If you subject Tiffany’s diamonds to the same ASET evaluation, you will see variations in the performances of their diamonds. In general, I would say Tiffany’s diamonds are well-cut but they aren’t the best in the industry. Yes, I brought my own ASET scope to Tiffany and Co before and allowed their sales staff to use my scope to examine their own diamonds.

    In my experience, the sales people there are pretty delusional until they start look at their own diamonds critically. Basically, they are taught to blindly market their products and believe that they are selling the “best” cut diamonds in the world when they haven’t actually seen enough diamonds to foster such beliefs. It’s generally the same for employees of other high-end jewelry boutiques. Anyway, I’m sorry for digressing.

    For an objective comparison of fire, certain online dealers can help you capture videos of side by side comparisons in various lighting conditions.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5bTeBMX3mmI

    Truth be told, these kind of comparisons are extremely difficult to be performed in a store environment because the lighting system is designed to make diamonds sparkle (even the poorly cut ones). And this is why I often emphasize that consumers get more transparent data when shopping online instead of listening to marketing BS sales people regurgitate from their marketing material.

  14. Chloe-
    February 13, 2015 at 11:28 am

    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for your information in the article. It’s very useful. Just wanted to ask your opinion about a Tiffany ring versus a Costco ring. I have the option to either buy a .8 carat Tiffany ring ($14,200) with these specs: D, VVS1, excellent cut, very good symmetry, excellent polish, table: 60%, depth: 71.7%, girdle: polished. Or, I could purchase a 1.08 carat Costco ring ($8,500) with these specs: E, VVS1, very good polish, excellent symmetry, table: 67%, and depth: 68.6%. It seems like the Costco ring is definitely a better buy. But, I have $5,000 in gift cards with Tiffany. So, I still think the best option would be to buy the Costco ring & use the gift cards at Tiffany for a different style of ring and/or some earrings (both the Costco ring & gift cards totaling around the same price as the $14,200 Tiffany ring). What are your thoughts? Thanks!

  15. Paul Gian-
    February 13, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    Unfortunately, there’s nothing I can tell you about the diamonds without further details or information. They could be duds or be awesome and numbers alone don’t say anything about them. Refer to my guide on choosing fancy cuts here:

    https://beyond4cs.com/where-to-buy-fancy-cuts/

    I strongly recommend buying a handheld ASET scope and using it to help you select diamonds in store. Or at least, work with a vendor who can offer you tangible cut data on diamonds you are buying.

    With the ASET scope, you can easy discern the stone’s cut quality yourself by using the following reference chart I made:
    https://beyond4cs.com/2014/12/aset-reference-charts/

  16. Christy-
    July 1, 2015 at 4:13 am

    Hi Paul,

    After reading this article I couldn’t help but admire all your knowledge about the jewelry market. However I have one big question about the jewelry trade-up or upgrade policy.

    I read somewhere else that those mall or most of the jewelry shops use the ‘second-hand’ diamond to resell to other customers when ppl trade-up or return their rings. In other words, people are very likely to wear other women’s previously rings when purchasing at those stores. However, Tiffany guarantees that their engagement rings never use second-hand diamonds or rings that’s previously owned by others. When people return or upgrade their diamond engagement rings, Tiffany uses those diamonds in other jewelry pieces, such as earrings or necklaces, but never on the engagement rings. I believe that since Tiffany’s trade-up policy is much more strict than any other jewelry shops.
    Is any of these true? Please un-puzzle or correct me!

  17. Paul Gian-
    July 12, 2015 at 5:28 am

    I believe you are right. Based on my own experience and questions I asked in a local Tiffany outlet, I was told that traded in diamonds are used for other forms of jewelry.

  18. Victoria-
    September 9, 2015 at 9:14 pm

    Hi Paul,
    I wish I had read your article before pouring out a hefty price on a Tiffany ring. The purchase has already been done so no turning around now. The only thing I can ask for now is your personal opinion on the following .38c round brilliant ring with the following specs: color:H fluorescence:none presence: triple excellent rating clarity:VS1 depth %: 60.1 table size %: 59 crown height %:13.5 crown angle: 33.6% star lenght%:56 pavilion depth %:43.6 pavilion angle%:41.2 lower half lenght%:77 girdle thickness:thin to medium girdle finish:bruted culet:none
    What’s your opinion? Thanks!

  19. Paul Gian-
    September 15, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    Unfortunately, there’s only so much (or so little) I could tell you about your diamond without looking at it.

    https://beyond4cs.com/buying-diamonds-blind/

    What I would say for sure is that the stone has mediocre proportions (overly high pavilion angles and low crown angles in combination with table/depth%). Based on that alone, it is enough for me to avoid it all together without even looking at other stuff. There is simply way too many other options out there that would be better options than settling for this stone.

  20. Kristof-
    October 12, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I am really impressed by your knowledge as i have read your other your articles too.
    I do hope that maybe you will be able to answer my question as i can not find anything on the web or the tiffany&co website.

    The question is – have ever tiffany made their Setting ring in white 18k gold? i have been looking for the engagement ring for my future wife 🙂 and i have been offered a vintage 18k one. however i have some doubts whether it is real of fake one. i personally prefer to buy other non branded ring rather than fake Tifffany.

    Many thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    Kris

  21. Paul Gian-
    October 13, 2015 at 2:08 am

    As far as I know, Tiffany does make 18k white gold rings with diamonds. However, they may not make 18k white gold versions for all their ring designs. It is best to check directly with Tiffany & Co. in order to clarify questions related to material makeups.

  22. Kristi-
    October 19, 2015 at 2:10 am

    Your pricing is a little off — for the same band as the tiffany setting band you have to pay $1800 for the Vatche setting (which IS the same as the Tiffany setting). So, that’s a big difference when you factor in the actual same setting in platinum. In my case, my .47 excellent cut, VVSI I color Tiffany Setting ring was LESS expensive than the same ring from whiteflash.
    For most ladies, your advice would be great! The larger rocks will be way more $$$$ – but for me, Tiffany’s was less expensive and so, so worth it. The setting was equally important as the diamond, and I feel I got both and for a very, very reasonable price!

  23. Kristi-
    October 19, 2015 at 2:12 am

    I forgot to add the link to the identical setting as the Tiffany Setting from Whiteflash.

    http://www.whiteflash.com/engagement-rings/solitaire/6-prong-solitaire-engagement-ring-by-vatche-1779.htm

  24. Paul Gian-
    October 19, 2015 at 7:12 am

    Thanks for pointing this out. Vatche is a designer brand and naturally, the prices are more expensive than the generic settings offered by White Flash.

  25. Jun-
    October 27, 2015 at 10:26 am

    Hi Paul, could you help me to make a decision which one is better this two Tiffany rings?(nearly same price)1.Tiffany Setting 1.12ct G Colour VS1 Clarity 2 excellent but very good symmetry

    – Total Depth = 61.9%
    – Table Size = 56%
    – Crown Height = 15.7%
    – Crown Angle = 34.9
    – Pavilion Depth = 42.7%
    – Pavilion Angle = 40.7
    – Girdle Thickness = Medium to Slightly thick
    – Girdle Finish = Faceted
    – Culet = None 2.Tiffany Classic Setting 1.09ct F Colour VS1 Clarity
    Excellent Cut, Excellent Symmetry, Excellent Polish.
    TOTAL DEPTH PERCENTAGE 62.3%
    TABLE SIZE PERCENTAGE 55%
    CROWN HEIGHT PERCENTAGE 15.9%
    CROWN ANGLE 34.9°
    PAVILION DEPTH PERCENTAGE 43.0%
    PAVILION ANGLE 40.8°
    GIRDLE THICKNESS Medium
    GIRDLE FINISH Faceted
    CULET None
    LOWER HALF LENGTH PERCENTAGE 75%
    STAR LENGTH PERCENTAGE 55%

  26. Paul Gian-
    October 27, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    The proportions look OK to me and I don’t see red flags in both diamonds based on their proportions. That said, proportions by themselves don’t tell the complete story about a diamond’s appearance. You need more info!

    Read this: https://beyond4cs.com/buying-diamonds-blind/

  27. Daniel Setton-
    October 27, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    Great article Paul. I’ve been looking at James Allen and some other sites that offer 360 videos for their diamonds and also comparing prices for settings. I really like this setting from Shiree Odiz:

    http://www.shireeodiz.com/products/diamond-engagement-ring-modern-round-cut-side-diamonds-99064-white-gold?variant=6349500291

    The price seems very reasonable considering the amount of small diamonds. What are your thoughts?

    I’m still looking for the center stone… Around 0.80ct G/SI1 round.

    Thanks

  28. Paul Gian-
    October 27, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    Nice setting. I think it’s full of bling! If you need help in picking out the center diamond, email me in private.

  29. Jake-
    November 12, 2015 at 4:15 am

    Hi Paul Gian,

    Thank you for sharing your knowledge here.

    I was wondering how can you evaluate the diamond with the ring set by using Idealscope/ASET at Tiffany & Co, since their diamond always set on the ring.

    Thank you!

    Jake

  30. Paul Gian-
    November 12, 2015 at 11:17 am

    Buy a portable handheld ASET/Idealscope and bring it to the store for examination. It’s a hassle but that’s the way to get it done if you want assurance of best cut quality.

  31. Kelly-
    November 13, 2015 at 2:21 am

    Hi Paul,

    I’ve been quoted a diamond for an plain solitaire engagement ring from a wholesaler for $9,800 CAD: GIA graded, round cut, 1.30 carat, vs1, triple excellent I colour. I am just really worried about the I colour as it is lower in the GIA scale and I don’t want my ring to be let down by any of the four Cs. I’ve been told I’m over thinking it. Do you think it is reasonable to be concerned about the I colour?

    Thank you for your help.

  32. Paul Gian-
    November 14, 2015 at 2:10 am

    Cut is the utmost factor that affects a diamond’s outward appearance. The fact that you claim to be buying from a “wholesaler” does not bode well. Wholesalers do not exist and are a marketing scam used to create the illusion of preferential pricing when they aren’t.

    https://beyond4cs.com/engagement-ring/beware-of-cheap-diamond-deals/

    That is to say, if someone claims to sell at wholesale prices and they purchased the goods at a wholesale price of $100, they are expected to sell it to the consumer at $100. If they sell at a higher price to the consumer at $101 or $110, they are selling at retail prices. It’s as simple as that and wholesalers DO NOT exist to the general public because as you guessed, companies deal in hundreds to thousands of stones at a time to qualify them for “wholesale prices”.

  33. Felicia-
    November 19, 2015 at 7:31 am

    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for such a detailed info, I got a quick question, hopefully you’d be able to answer, I bought a Tiffany Harmony ring, I paid and requested to resize it to size 5 (the standard size starts from size 6), I didn’t get my ring yet since it’s in process of resizing now (of course, still in 30 days period), but I somehow change my mind and would like to cancel this order, would Tiffany accept my cancellation and fully refund me? I kinda saw from other website saying, once you resize the ring, you cannot return it even it’s in 30 days period, is it true?

  34. Paul Gian-
    November 19, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    It is best to get in touch with Tiffany immediately. They are the best people to advice you and maybe able to process your request. The sooner you do it, the better.

  35. Ra Luca-
    November 20, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    Hi Paul
    I am really impressed by your knowledge!
    What can you tell me about the yellow diamonds from Tiffany?

    Thanks
    Ra Luca

  36. Paul Gian-
    November 20, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    They are significantly overpriced because of the brand premium. Quality wise, it’s the same issue as their “colorless” diamonds. The quality is generally OK and you need to be educated in order to select the better ones.

  37. A-
    November 21, 2015 at 7:18 am

    Nine years ago we shopped for engagement rings. After visiting various jewelers, we kept going back to Tiffany’s flagship store on fifth avenue. I love my Tiffany diamond and the brilliance dispersed from the stone is unmatched by any other. They really cut to maximize the brilliance, not carat weight. Customer service is superb and a class all by itself. For those criticizing Tiffany, they probably can’t afford it.

  38. Bling-
    November 25, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    Hi Paul,
    Would like to seek your opinion on the two Tiffany rings. Which is more worth considering? Option 2 seems to show more fire and scintillation.
    1) Depth percentage: 62
    Table percentage: 60
    Crown angle: 35.4
    Pavilion angle: 41.1
    Girdle thickness: medium to slightly thick
    Cut, polish & symmetry: 3x
    HCA: 4.7

    2)Depth percentage: 60.3
    Table percentage: 59
    Crown angle: 33.4
    Pavilion angle:40.8
    Gridle thickness: medium to slightly thick
    Cut, polish & summetry: 3x
    HCA: 1.3

  39. Paul Gian-
    November 26, 2015 at 5:39 am

    Both don’t make the cut by my standards.

    https://beyond4cs.com/shapes/round/ideal-proportions/

    You can definitely do better. Tiffany sells diamonds with a range of cut quality and you’ll need to be selective if you are looking for the best. Given the insane premium you get charged, I advice you to do more reading up and use tangible light performance tools to evaluate your diamond options.

    https://beyond4cs.com/2014/12/aset-reference-charts/

  40. YaeLe-
    December 28, 2015 at 3:19 am

    Hi Paul,

    I visited Tiffany & Co today and was on the edge of purchasing a 1.01 carat I VS1 solitaire. I thought it twice and headed home to do a little more research without being carried away.

    Now I find myself looking into buying a solitaire ring from James Allen. This would get set into a “Tiffany style” ring. I am not a big fan of visible inclusions in diamonds, but I also don’t want to pay a whole lot for something that is going to be a technicality only.

    Can you please tell me if this sounds like good value for what I am paying (~7.8k)?

    Thanks in advance!

    SHAPE: Round
    CARAT WEIGHT: 1.24
    COLOR: F
    CLARITY: VS2
    CUT: Excellent
    POLISH: Excellent
    SYMMETRY: Excellent
    L/W/D (MM): 6.85*6.88*4.29
    L/W RATIO: 1.00
    DEPTH %: 62.50
    TABLE %: 57.00
    CERTIFICATE: GIA
    CROWN ∠: 35.50
    CROWN %: 15.50
    PAVILION ∠: 41.00
    PAVILION %: 43.50

  41. Paul Gian-
    December 28, 2015 at 6:57 am

    Do you have a direct url link to the diamond? The crown angles are a tad high but it might work. You need to provide me with more information to make my review any meaningful.

  42. Lena-
    January 6, 2016 at 6:19 am

    Very informative post, Paul! Cut is definitely king when it comes to diamonds. I think it’s great that there’s more and more accessible information on light performance, which allows for buyers to get the best performing (objectively) diamond possible. Just like your post, there are so many tools online now to help with the selection process, such as Pricescope’s HCA tool. You just plug in the various angles of the diamond and you’ll get a pretty good idea of how well your diamond will perform. For me, I want a diamond because I want it to be sparkly and fiery. With such a big purchase, I definitely want the best of the best that offers supporting proof and documents, such as AGS Ideal light performance, ASETs, Idealscope images. I’m willing to pay a premium for quality, not so much for the name of the brand especially when their quality does not stack up against super-ideals. Thanks again for the information!

  43. Francine-
    January 12, 2016 at 1:29 am

    My boyfriend wanted to gift me something that I would like so we went to Tiffany together. I’m not overweight but I’ve always worn big size rings. They had very very poor selection of not only designs but the sizes as well. Sales associate couldn’t offer anything bigger than 7 (which is good for my pinky). Eventually she gave up and suggested to look online. Niiiiceeeee experience

  44. Jen-
    January 19, 2016 at 10:06 pm

    Buyer Beware – My Tiffany’s diamond anniversary bands have to be completely reset and one is only 3 years old at a cost of almost half the ring’s value – and Tiffany’s says it is my fault. Actually have two of the same bands (one for 10 years and one for 15). 7 diamonds in each. A diamond has fallen out twice even though I have had them checked every 6 mos since the first one fell out. Now being told it will cost me $5000 to repair the rings. No other options presented. These are diamond rings in platinum settings that are to be worn with wedding bands on a regular basis! Tiffany’s says it is solely my fault and nothing is wrong with their product. I have been a long time customer but will never purchase any jewelry from Tiffany’s again. Be cautious before paying “extra” for the Tiffany’s brand. They certainly don’t stand behind it!

  45. Tam-
    July 15, 2016 at 8:31 am

    Hi Paul,

    I went to Tiffany’s this morning in HK.

    I fell in love with their solitaire diamond studs earrings. The sales lady said in her personal opinion, she recommends size over color and clarity for earrings. She recommended a pair of earrings with 1.11c total weight, I color, VVS1/2 for HKD70,000. Is it over priced?

    Love to hear from you.

    Cheers,
    Tam

  46. Paul Gian-
    July 15, 2016 at 8:47 am

    You can do your own price comparisons here: https://beyond4cs.com/diamond-prices/

    Let me know what you find out.

  47. Owen Davies-
    October 28, 2016 at 2:09 am

    Surely an engagement ring only has a value if you sell it ? If you ask someone to marry you, and give the lady an engagement ring then it should never be sold, and therefore has no value. Just a thought x

  48. Liz-
    December 11, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    I second wholeheartedly one of the comments I read – Tiffany’s doesn’t have good customer service! I am known as the diamond queen amongst all my friends. I went with one of them to help him choose an engagement ring for his girlfriend. We were dressed in shorts and tshirts, but you hardly expect to need to wear a fancy outfit to get good customer service. We go inside and we wait for someone to come over to us. There were some staff standing behind the counter not doing anything, but not coming over to us. Finally I go up to one of them (15 min later) and say “excuse me.” The response “I’m busy.” in a very rude tone. I wait a while longer but the lady is just standing there. Finally someone comes over to us and my friend points at one and says “oh what is the price on that”. The woman just looked at us and walks away. I got very angry and I left the store. He later bought his girlfriend a ring online. It’s ridiculous to judge someone on their lack of knowledge or their outfit. Knowing that the jewellery is so overpriced as well, I don’t see why anyone would like to buy there.

  49. Ted-
    April 26, 2017 at 1:55 pm

    I am a diamond dealer that buys wholesale diamonds, mostly melee, from diamond manufacturers, of which some are DTC sightholders and some are not. The diamonds are in large parcels, sometimes hundreds of carats. I then sort and grade these stones and resell them to small jewelry manufacturers or retail stores that make some of their own jewelry. We markup those goods 10 – 30%. That is still a wholesale price, because it is not the end consumer. Working on 47th street, I know casters, setters, and polishers. I can make a piece of jewelry for $1000 and sell it to a retail store for $1250. They then sell it in their store for $2000 – $2500. If I am lucky and know the end consumer, I can sell it directly to them for $1500. I make a little more and they save up to $1000 off the retail price. I consider that getting a deal from a wholesaler.

    I will note this is nearly an impossible scenario with large stones for engagement rings, due to the competitive pricing out there. The only way to get a true deal is to know a diamond manufacturer.

  50. Kathleen-
    June 6, 2017 at 9:32 pm

    I am shocked at Liz’s report of the customer service at Tiffany & Co. Let me tell you why. My boyfriend and I visited the Tiffany & Co. store on Newbury Street in Boston to look at the Soleste as an engagement ring. Immediately upon entering, a very nice sales associate offered us a drink. Were we wearing fancy clothes? No. We were wearing jeans, North Face fleece jackets, and baseball caps, both of us. Nicholas (the sales professional) was extremely helpful and incredibly knowledgeable. He answered all of our questions. Towards the end of our visit, again he asked us whether we’d like something to drink. My boyfriend responded, “Thank you, but we’re on our way to lunch.” Nicholas asked where we were having lunch and my boyfriend responded, “Oh, just at Joe’s American Bar & Grill down the street.” In the end, he gave us his card upon which he wrote his personal cell phone number. We both really liked him and were beyond impressed by his knowledge and class. Fast forward to 30 minutes later. We’re sitting at lunch and our waiter comes over with this huge smile on his face. And he says to us, “I am so happy to be the one to tell you that your meal today is being covered by Tiffany and Company!” Our jaws dropped. I nearly fell off my chair. We figured one of two things had happened. Either Nicholas had followed us down the street and asked the hostess to send him the bill, or he had called and described what we were wearing (the couple in the baseball caps). Needless to say, it was a class act. Not only were we blinded by the sparkle of every piece of jewelry around us, but we were blown away by one of the classiest acts we’ve ever encountered. When my boyfriend decides it’s the right time to purchase that ring, he’s going back there without a doubt.

  51. Paul Gian-
    June 7, 2017 at 3:44 am

    Thanks for sharing! It’s the first time I heard someone being bought lunch on Tiffany’s account without purchasing anything beforehand. I don’t deny that Tiffany’s service can be great at times but I would be very surprised if they actually do this to all walk-in clients. Given how frequent I visit them, I have personally never experienced (as with others) having a meal bought before. I guess they need to work on their consistency in service standards. Your experience tells is another reason why Tiffany and Co’s prices are extremely high as well.

Leave A Comment