James Allen Review

Disclosure: Please note we may generate revenue through the links/ads on this page and throughout this site. That said, we do NOT accept paid reviews and take great pride in providing honest opinions and objective information on products/services. Put simply, if a product isn’t good enough for us to personally buy, we won’t recommend it.

jamesallen.com review

JamesAllen.com – A Rising Star

Over the years, e-commerce has become part of our everyday lives. We order books and clothing online. We use mobile apps to order pizzas and even book theater tickets on the web. However, when it comes to making larger purchases, we naturally tend to be skeptical.

Started back in 1998, the JamesAllen.com store was one of the pioneers of jewelry e-commerce. With more than 10 years projected over the development of their online store, they can actually be considered a succession of a number of generations.

When even one or two year old businesses can be worldwide successes and change the way people use the Internet, we should really reevaluate our skepticism regarding online jewelries. If you think about it, Facebook is one of the most popular sites that people use every day and they are only seven years old.

Do you remember life before Google? Not really? Well, think about this: JamesAllen.com is just as old as Google is and they had come a long way in establishing themselves in the market with their revolutionary concept of buying diamonds online. It is my belief they will be the benchmark that sets the standard for diamond buying and selling in future.

What’s the Big Deal? Isn’t JamesAllen.com Just Like Any Other Jeweler?

When it comes to spending thousands of dollars of your hard earned money on an important purchase, it’s no wonder that many people cringe at the thought of buying a proposal ring online. Why so? Most of the Internet purchases we make are often done ‘sight unseen’. This means that you have no idea how your item would look like until it’s at your doorstep.

For a long time running, that was how diamonds were bought online. And for the record, that’s the prehistoric way of doing things. It’s the year 2013 at the point of writing this review. And sadly, these old business models are still prevalent at the majority of online jewelry stores.

JamesAllen.com changes all that.

Check out their latest video technology that captures all the details of a diamond in high resolution.

Believe it or not, this gives consumers the ease of examining a diamond in details far greater than what a traditional brick and mortar jeweler can offer.




Besides having a concise educational library of resources for the consumer, they also address and overcome many of the Internet shopping stigmas through the implementation of modern technology.

Here’s a Brief Summary of James Allen’s Website Features:

 

– Real diamond videos in high definition
Magnified diamond photographs: See your diamond like a jeweler
– 3D engagement ring setting visualizer
– Intuitive diamond search tool
Build Your Own Ring
24/7 customer support service
– Free engraving with laser inscribing
100% full refund within 30 days
Free returns (JA will pay for the return shipping within USA)
Lifetime warranty on your jewelry purchase

 

As we dive deeper into our review, I will start off by offering more insights about the features offered by James Allen. This is followed by an account of a real life shopping experience at JamesAllen.com as we take you through the complete process of selecting and buying a diamond.

Next Page >>

Related Articles

JamesAllen.com Achieves The Highest Rating of 5/5 – Review by Paul Gian

Share This Page on Social Media!

25 Comments

  1. Cedrick P. Holbrook-
    July 15, 2015 at 3:17 am

    I came across the James Allen online jewelry store while I was researching Blue Nile. You seem knowledgeable and had tested James Allen’s customer service.

    In your experience, have you ever come across any bad reviews or feedback from others? I’m considering to buy a James Allen ring but I’m pretty apprehensive as the ring costs $6,000+.

    Comparing James Allen vs Blue Nile, should I stick with the more established brand? Any advice would be greatly welcomed.

  2. Paul Gian-
    July 16, 2015 at 7:38 am

    I think there’s really no comparison between Blue Nile vs James Allen. While it is true that BlueNile.com has been around longer, the business model in which they adopt is obsolete. BlueNile.com expects you to buy blind which is a huge gamble and risky process.

    You can read about them here:
    https://beyond4cs.com/reviews/blue-nile/
    https://beyond4cs.com/buying-diamonds-blind/

    So far, the feedback that I had received from readers who bought their diamond rings at James Allen has been nothing but praise. I have heard of a few cases where there are clients who asked for refunds for their items because it wasn’t what they expect. Well, the issue here is that when these shoppers bought their jewelry, they didn’t know what they were doing and didn’t follow the step by step instructions here:

    https://beyond4cs.com/step-by-step-guide/

    Anyway, James Allen did honor their money back policy and they will return every single cent of your purchase in the event you are unsatisfied. The reason why JamesAllen.com stands out is that they offer HD videos of every diamond they sell. This allows you to examine details that far surpasses what you can get anywhere else.

  3. Sullivan-
    August 15, 2015 at 1:12 am

    JamesAllen.com is the BEST! I needed an engagement ring urgently and requested that they send the finished product ahead of schedule. And they delivered! 2 thumbs up!

  4. Mike Finerghty-
    March 16, 2016 at 6:03 pm

    If I buy online from James Allen, what do you recommend for cleaning and maintenance? What are the normal costs of doing so at a local jeweler for whom I did not purchase the ring from?

  5. Paul Gian-
    March 23, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    I recommend cleaning your rings yourself. It’s much more convenient and time saving.

    https://beyond4cs.com/care-and-maintenance/how-to-clean-your-diamond/

  6. Katherine-
    March 24, 2016 at 3:04 pm

    I absolutely disagree with this conclusion. The stone fell out of my engagement ring after 4 months of wear (and suffering no trauma). I took it to a local jeweler to get it re-set and they told us that the ring cut and setting were completely incompatible and that this would be a recurring issue.

    Why would James Allen recommend, set, and ship the ring without even bringing this problem to our attention?

    We contacted James Allen and they recommended sending the ring back to them so that they could assess the issue. Gladly. Well, after two weeks, my ring is back in my possession, it’s exactly the same, and I have yet to hear anything from James Allen customer service regarding the problem or the solution.

    To anyone looking for a ring, look elsewhere. James Allen is clearly only looking to make a buck without even considering the sentimental (and monetary) value of their product.

  7. Warren-
    May 24, 2016 at 4:49 am

    Hi Paul,

    Can I ask for your help/input – me and the gf are looking at engagement rings and I need to make a decision in the next few days on a marquise cut… probably somewhere between 0.84-0.96ct. The gf has slender fingers so we’ve worked out we’re most likely happy with something on a 2:0 L/W ratio give or take around that range, so it’s not too skinny or too fat, but more towards the skinny side. Otherwise D-F colour and VS2-SI2 fits us.

    Now James Allen has a 0.96 ct for $6,000 aud…

    https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/marquise-cut/0.96-carat-e-color-si1-clarity-sku-904627

    I’ve looked up their GIA certificate # and the inclusions seem less than a competing diamond I sourced through a popular family run business here locally.

    The local store insisted out of the various 1ct + diamonds that he liked this 0.96 ct diamond the most:

    https://www.gia.edu/report-check?reportno=2151424308

    The GIA report # is 2151424308 when searching on gia.edu.

    Can I have your opinion, when looking at the GIA certificate on this how it compares to James Allen?

    All up I estimate the setting would be circa $2,500, so i’d estimate the diamond is between $7000,7-500 we’re being charged (total package $995) – this compares to the $6000 AUD on james allen (+$600 or so for local Australian GST taxes and the like).

    We’ve physically seen the latter diamond and the gf likes it. It has faint fluorescence and D colour and looks beautiful. Under the eagle eye we pick up all the clouds per the GIA report, but notice nothing in the naked eye. He insists as they’re all white clouds its still a great diamond and his favourite. But my worry is the GIA report clearly shows a myriad of cloud sand other inclusions, it’s very very busy on the diamond layout.

    The James Allen shows up as less inclusions on the diamond. However, he seemed like a great guy and authentic in trying to offer a good service/price (family business) so I am not sure if he is just trying to pass off a dud as great, or if genuinely the white clouds etc of the SI2 diamond are of no concern, and therefore act as a price reduction?

    Still, I can’t get over the price of the diamond from James Allen linked above. Only difference is it is E colour not D.

    Can you please offer your expert advice based off your interpretation off these GIA certificates and in-line with the prices being offered? I might try and negotiate the whole diamond and setting down to $9,500 locally, but I guess local run shops will always be more expensive than the likes of James Allen?

  8. Paul Gian-
    May 24, 2016 at 6:07 am

    Without looking at specific data (magnified images, videos, ASET etc…) of the stone that the local vendor has sourced, there’s nothing constructive I can say about it. Your observation that brick and mortar stores tend to have higher prices is true. On top of that, they have very very limited selections.

    What I would say about the James Allen diamond: https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/marquise-cut/0.96-carat-e-color-si1-clarity-sku-904627 is that it is a very well cut diamond for light performance. I say this based on extensive experience with marquises. The majority of marquises are duds and badly cut for optics. This James Allen stone is one of the rarer marquises that are cut for performance and is a great choice; one that i would personally buy if I were in the market for one.

  9. Christopher M Miller-
    December 1, 2016 at 2:11 am

    Paul,
    I would love your assessment of this diamond I am considering. I am thinking it is a fairly good value, however the crown angle may be of some concern.

    https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.60-carat-j-color-vs2-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-2163884

    Thanks!
    Chris

  10. Paul Gian-
    December 1, 2016 at 2:41 am

    The crown angle is a concern but the IGI report is a bigger red flag. I did a search for you and would recommend this diamond instead: https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.50-carat-j-color-si1-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-2123632

  11. John San Gabriel-
    December 17, 2016 at 2:12 pm
  12. Paul Gian-
    December 18, 2016 at 3:22 am

    John, the first stone is the better option.

  13. December 23, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    I am looking at a diamond and would love to hear your thoughts on this diamond?

    https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/0.49-carat-i-color-if-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-2224610

    The angle and the IGI report are foreign to me. I wanted to put it in a halo setting.

  14. Paul Gian-
    December 26, 2016 at 3:47 pm

    This is not a well cut diamond I would recommend.

  15. Roberto Hsmada-
    January 19, 2017 at 3:26 pm
  16. Paul Gian-
    January 20, 2017 at 9:18 am

    All 3 are terrible choices. You need to place your emphasis on cut quality if you want to get the maximum sparkle and beauty out of a purchase.

  17. Matt-
    March 27, 2017 at 3:59 pm

    Not even really sure where to start. Yes the prices are very appealing but customer service and actual product are terrible. I was told a shipping date and even confirmed the shipping date on the same day. My order did not go out on that day. After confirming that my item would ship out they sent me an email a few hours later delaying the process. I spent weeks planning my proposal including flying her family down for the occasion. James Allen didn’t care and didn’t even attempt to rectify the situation. When I finally got my ring the email the setting looks poorly made not even sure it will hold the diamond I purchased for it. The whole process of dealing with James Allen was god awful. Don’t be fooled because of the cheap prices, you are buying a cheap product. Do yourself a favor and shop elsewhere.

  18. Paul Gian-
    March 27, 2017 at 4:49 pm

    Sorry to hear about your experience. Would you like to share more details like what you bought and the dates that your ring was purchased? Also, have you gotten in touch with James Allen and has someone reached out to help you?

  19. Alan L.-
    April 27, 2017 at 10:58 pm

    I spent hours combing through their massive inventory to narrow down the diamonds I would asked for Ideal-Scope images for. I ended up with 5 diamonds and was notified by James Allen that two of the diamonds were not available to have images taken. The James Allen customer service rep told me that the images of the remaining three diamonds would take 5 business days.

    After waiting the 5 business days, I received an email letting me know that they could not get images of the diamond. The customer service rep told me that I could purchase the diamond first and then receive images after I made the purchase. Basically asking me to buy blind. What is the difference between that and Blue Nile?

    This has been a complete waste of time and one of the worst shopping experiences ever for a large purchase. You would figure that is a customer is willing to spend $20K at your store, you would treat them a bit better.

  20. Paul Gian-
    April 28, 2017 at 9:18 am

    Hey Alan, I’m sorry to hear about your experience. Get in touch with me via email and I will help you out personally.

  21. Bonnie-
    May 5, 2017 at 8:11 pm

    I have a aset image that I don’t know how to read, can I send it to you for opinion? It’s for a right hand ring and not a wedding ring but flash is still important. Thanks

  22. Justin-
    November 29, 2017 at 8:08 pm
  23. Paul Gian-
    November 30, 2017 at 10:30 am

    It’s a decently well cut emerald shape diamond.

Leave A Comment