Blue Nile Review

blue nile reviews

Website Screenshot

Blue Nile is arguably the largest online diamond retailer. Founded 12 years ago, BlueNile has since established a reputation for great customer service and support. This success was also largely built on the better prices they could offer over the typical mom and pop store.

The company understands that a great majority of jewelry shoppers do not have much knowledge about jewelry in general. With this in mind, they go to lengths to ensure that a potential customer is given sufficient information to weigh on a potential purchase.

This enables the consumer to make up his/her own mind and select a piece of jewelry of sound quality that is within their budget.

Product Range and Prices At BlueNile.com

Loose diamonds are the core products at BlueNile.com and they form the bulk of the jewelry sold at their website. They happen to have the largest online inventory of diamonds with over 140,000 pieces of different shapes and sizes to cater to people with different budgets. Besides that, Blue Nile also offers a wide range of pearls and gemstone jewelry sold in platinum, sterling silver, and gold.

When it comes to ring mountings, the options available seem almost endless. Whether you’re shopping for a wedding band, engagement ring or anniversary gift, Blue Nile’s immense collection can meet almost every customer’s taste in jewelry. For example, if you’re shopping for a ring or pendant, you can use the company’s ‘Build Your Own’ tool to design your own setting. Besides various patterns to choose from, you can also select the metal type of your own preferences from 3 options of white gold, gold and platinum.

bluenile reviews

When it comes to style, the selection of jewelry doesn’t disappoint. Even though they might not have licensing deals with brand names or settings made by well known designers, their alternatives to the classic ring are particularly pleasing.

Jewelry, especially diamond jewelry, is usually a reserve for higher end shoppers. However, budget buyers are well catered for as well. Prices for gemstone jewelry start for as low as $50 while those for loose and mounted diamonds tend to go up in the higher digits. For the purpose of this review on BlueNile.com, we will limit our focus on diamond related jewelry.

Blue Nile’s Website And Features

You will not find complex graphics or glittery flash animations on their website. Instead, what you’ll find is a simple and functional interface with a straightforward search feature. Whether it is an engagement ring or something simpler to spoil yourself with, you can refine your search to help you locate exactly what you need. From the type of item, price, metal or stone, and style, you can quickly narrow down to designs that interest you.

blue nile's educational articles

There’s also an exhaustive collection of content in the form of informative articles. For a first time shopper, the FAQ section contains almost every answers and article to commonly asked questions. For instance, you could easily read up on how to shop for different types of jewelry, learn how jewelry is graded, find tips on reading grading reports, etc.

The major problem with Blue Nile is that you are buying “blind” and won’t know exactly what you will get until the parcel arrives. That’s RISKY. In contrast, other vendors like James Allen and White Flash offer features like videos and light performance data to show you exactly how a diamond looks like and how it performs before you even buy it.

A Review of BlueNile’s Security And Customer Support

All personal and credit card information is processed through a secure server and the company will not disclose any of your information to third parties. Customers who are uneasy with giving their credit card information can opt to pay through PayPal or Google Checkout.

Do note that but this is only valid for orders inside USA. I only knew of this issue when I tried to make a purchase from an international location with my Paypal account.

Blue Nile does offer a 30-day money back guarantee which is pretty much the industry standard nowadays. In case you’re not pleased with what you had purchased, returning it isn’t too much of a hassle. Like most other jewelry stores, all purchases are shipped with FedEx to ensure that you receive your purchase. On top of that, customers also have an option to add a custom message with a gift order. I personally think this is a nice value added service and adds a personal touch which is useful for many occasions.

Customer support is offered 24/7 through phone, email, or live chat. On a personal note, the customer service standards that I experienced are definitely not something that I would give a thumb up to. Read my diamond shopping experience for my encounter with their support for more details…

And if you liked what you had read so far, don’t be. You shouldn’t be overly impressed because these are almost standard offerings that other competitive vendors offer. I’m sorry but I have to burse your bubble at this point.

So far, we had only touched on the basic features that any other online jewelry stores can offer and we had already seen issues starting to surface. For the typical diamond ring shopper, what really matters is getting the most beautiful diamond for your budget and here’s where things really start to go downhill.

On the next page, we take a critical look at BlueNile.com’s signature diamonds and we didn’t like what we saw. Continue reading to find out why and the results of our analysis…

Next Page >>

Related Articles

BlueNile.com Receives a Poor Rating of 2.5/5 – Reviewed by Paul Gian

Sharing Is Caring ! Share on Facebook0Share on Google+5Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0Share on Reddit0Share on StumbleUpon0

30 Comments

  1. Gordon-
    January 25, 2015 at 7:29 pm

    Blue Nile SUCKS big time and I don’t even know where to begin. Their customer service is one of the worst I’ve ever encountered when buying jewelry. First of all, I’ve gotten a charge on my credit card due to a cancelled order. Despite the fact BlueNile emphasizes a 30 day money back guarantee, I’m having difficulties in getting my money back.

    Mind you, I’m a diamond collector and I had made a couple of purchases online before. I also purchased a couple of 2 carat diamonds in local stores before. So, I do know what I’m doing and is your above average clientele for luxury products.

    However, what a huge mistake I made to try out Blue Nile this time round. When I returned a diamond I purchased because it looked milky and tried exchanging it for a more expensive stone, I was met with scorn and nasty remarks by the customer service representative. It got me so turned off that I decided to cancel the order and requested a refund which led to a string of unpleasant events.

    If you are smart, heed this warning and stay far away from BlueNile.com. Don’t make the same mistake I made by trusting them with your money.

  2. Sally-
    March 30, 2015 at 3:40 am

    Blue nile disappointed me so much with their “money back” policy. I have got my ring however needed it to be resized. Hence we sent it back to the US (from Australia) and they have guaranteeed that NO additional charge even if the Australian custom charges us they will reimburse us. However it is NOT the case. When we got charged by the custom, we paid it and expected to have an reimbursement from Blue nile. Blue nile provided us with an incorrect letter (not for returned goods but a random letter to custom for refund) and asked us to wait for refund from the custom.

    Blue nile has misled us by saying reimburse any additional charge but when the time comes we got told if the custom does not refund they cannot and will not do anything. It does not fit the definition of reimbursement. We never expect a refund from custom but an reimbursement from Blue nile.

    I will not recommend blue nile to anyone. there are plenty of online diamond jewellers and also local jewellers to choose from.

  3. Joe K-
    May 1, 2015 at 10:16 am

    I’m looking to buy a round diamond around the 0.75 carat, VS2 range? I’m based in the UK, so I have been using bluenile’s Uk based site.

    Could anyone comment on the stone in the link below and/or make any recommendations within similar price range (max. £2k)? Are there any other ratings I should look out for?

    http://www.bluenile.com/uk/diamond-details/LD05850011

    Thanks,

    Joe

  4. Paul Gian-
    May 2, 2015 at 5:41 am

    The diamond you selected is mediocre. From its proportions alone, I can tell you that it is going to experience some light leakage under the table facet. The pavilion angle is slightly too steep and the angle combination isn’t ideal.

    bluenile.com uk

    Anyway, this diamond has strong fluorescence and you want to double check that it doesn’t cause any haziness or milkiness.

    http://beyond4cs.com/grading/fluorescence/haziness-or-transparency-issues/

    If you want to select a truly well-cut round brilliant diamond, read these sections for details:
    http://beyond4cs.com/step-by-step-guide/
    http://beyond4cs.com/best-place-to-buy-engagement-ring/

  5. George-
    July 26, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    Never again will i deal with this company. Bought an engagement ring and wedding band. Diamond fell out and instead of apologising asked that I send at my own cost EUR46 the ring back with no commitment they would fix it. Very poor customer service and they don’t address complaints in a satisfactory manner. Go to a local jeweller who you can trust.

  6. Paul Gian-
    July 26, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    Sorry to hear about your awful experience with BlueNile.

    First things first, I’m not a fan of BlueNile. I think that’s pretty clear based on my review and I have no intention of defending them. Now, regardless of whom you buy a diamond ring from (whether its online or a brick and mortar store), it is almost a standard procedure for any jewelry business to do a check on the ring first before committing to fixing it.

    To be fair, anyone would want to make sure that the damage is not caused by negligence before repairs are performed. I’m pretty sure Blue Nile will perform the necessary repairs to satisfactory conditions once the assessment is completed.

    Lastly, shopping at a local jeweler doesn’t prevent the issues you face and yes, BlueNile isn’t the best company to deal with when customers run into problems.

  7. Leslie-
    August 29, 2015 at 3:07 pm

    What do you think of Bluenile’s signature ideal against Tiffany’s engagement rings? Do they live up to their reputation as being better cut and have you received any complaints so far? Lastly, would you happen to know if Blue Nile offers any promotion codes for their jewelry?

  8. Paul Gian-
    August 29, 2015 at 10:14 pm

    I would say that the Signature Ideal is on par with Tiffany’s standards. Both have good standards but they aren’t the best. If cut precision and light performance matters, I recommend that you look at Brian Gavin http://beyond4cs.com/reviews/brian-gavin-diamonds/ or White Flash http://beyond4cs.com/reviews/whiteflash/.

    I do receive complaints about Blue Nile occasionally. Most of these complaints pertain to customer service. To be fair, some of these complaints arise as a result of unrealistic expectations and unreasonable clients.

    I believe Blue Nile does offer discounts and promotion codes near festive events You probably want to check directly with them

  9. Sombra-
    September 15, 2015 at 1:58 am

    I’m looking to buy a diamond, and get a setting from a local jeweler,
    I have narrow one down from blue nile.
    http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-details/LD06292396

    I was wondering is this a good stone?

  10. Paul Gian-
    September 15, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    You are on a dangerous path. Buying a fancy shaped diamond in Blue Nile is one of the worst ways to getting something unexpected in the mail box.

    Read these 2 links carefully:

    http://beyond4cs.com/buying-diamonds-blind/
    http://beyond4cs.com/where-to-buy-fancy-cuts/

  11. Luck-
    September 26, 2015 at 7:18 pm

    My Bluenile experience with expensive jewelry is a nightmare. Before I posted my review, I tried to contact bluenile and give it a chance to correct the situation, no one cared!

    I purchased a platinum monique Lhuiller pave petal engagement ring plus diamond, and later the platinum wedding band that blue nile said matches the engagement ring.

    Recently, I noticed the edge of the wedding band next to the diamond was all dented up; almost like it had been in the sink disposal. It seems the decoration on the side of engagement ring has been chewing up the wedding band. These are not normal wear and tear scratches I would expect to see and occasionally get polished at the local jewelry store. These was damage beyond that.

    I’m working 6 days a week so I only wear these rings about 1/2 day a week. This is unacceptable to me for something that has a combined cost of around $ 15,163.

    I sent the ring back (costly) to have them check out, and was hoping we could choose something that would last.
    After about 3 weeks worth of delays, all blue nile could do was repair as good as they could and return the ring back.

    The customer service representative suggested i have to wear the wedding band on the other hand (that is ridiculous)

    I felt like blue nile sold us rings that do not go together. I bought these from blue nile because I thought I was getting the best, something that would last forever.

    Now I have 2 rings that I am not able to wear and only serves to remind how much I hate Blue nile.

  12. Ki-
    October 28, 2015 at 8:04 am

    Hey Paul been shopping around for a ring downtown LA whole sale on a round Brillant 2.13 carat SI1, cut excellent, F color $24,200.00. Blue Nile has one similar for much cheaper. Who do I trust for quality and value?

  13. Paul Gian-
    October 28, 2015 at 11:03 am

    Going online offers better value and bang for your money. However, shopping at Blue Nile blind isn’t recommended. Read this to find out why: http://beyond4cs.com/buying-diamonds-blind/

  14. Jordan-
    November 10, 2015 at 2:00 am

    Blue nile is the most horrible company to deal with, their customer service is very poor, everybody says a different thing, no consistency with what they say, please… if you can, don’t ever deal with them. For the diamond that I bought, despite the GIA report saying its an excellent cut, F colour and SI1 clarity, but somehow it appears very milky, not shiny (I compared the same grade with the diamond from a local jeweler shop), and I then talked to a professional jeweler, and apparently GIA doesn’t record the origin of the diamond, so despite the same GIA report, the origin of the diamond is also critical, and you cant access it through internet. and when you try to return it, they will tell you that they are not familiar with the international policy, and funny enough, I called the international phone line =/=” And they don’t provide useful documents to you to claim back your customer cost… like what Sally Says.

  15. Minhky-
    November 25, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    I agree this is a very bad site name Blue Nite to buy diamond. I ordered a diamond yesterday. Today, the 25 of November, I plan to go to wire the money, before going, I clicked on the link again, I saw they said the diamond IS NOT AVAILABLE, call back. I call them and the answer is I have to wait another 24 hours for them to contact other address to see it is still there or not!!! And asked me to choose another one. My God! I spent days to find the diamond, now they need to check out to see they have to sell or not. I did not agree the way they are doing at all. I hope out there do not spend time to find your diamond in this store. This is cheap place.

  16. Robyn-
    January 11, 2016 at 1:50 am

    I already have my engagement ring (not from Blue Nile). I am looking for a 4mm plain polished platinum wedding band. At the store my engagement ring was designed they would charge about $2500 however Blue Nile is offering it at $440 for classic fit and $620 for mid-weight comfort fit. Why is there such a large difference in cost? Is there platinum different? I don’t want to get raped in charges from the jewelery store if I can get it a lot less but I also don’t want to think I am getting a deal and it be crap. I am allergic to gold. I am sensitive to other metals. Platinum is my only option. Any advice would be great. Thank you.

  17. Paul Gian-
    January 11, 2016 at 8:14 am

    Your store is overcharging you. Blue Nile is a fine establishment and the platinum they use is no different from the material used by many other jewelers. The only problem with Blue Nile is that you will be buying a diamond sight unseen.

  18. Shawn McKay-
    February 18, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    I recently ordered two rings on Blue Nile, and I would not recommend the experience.

    First of all, they seem to have serious security issues. After ordering on Blue Nile, I started getting lots of calls pretending to be my bank trying to “survey” my information. I provided none.

    When I went to pick up my package they said my “wife” had re-directed the shipment. Considering I don’t have a wife, I found this surprising. Although this sounds more like a FedEx issue, BlueNile made the situation worse.

    I contacted Blue Nile customer support, they said my problem was interesting and they would look into it and call me back. They did not call me back.

    Instead, the next day when I went to FedEx to pick up my package, they said Blue Nile had recalled my package without ever contacting me. After waiting two weeks for the rings, we won’t get them after all. Try explaining that to your fiancee.

    Blue Nile thankfully said they can send another delivery if I pay by money order. After having waited over two weeks for a missing delivery, I can only hope they remove the charges from my credit card.

    Blue Nile may be a victim of this kind of fraud, but they should not pass the burden on to their customers. My advice: buying a ring online comes with a risk, consider it.

  19. Tino-
    April 19, 2016 at 1:54 am

    I wish Blue Nile would stand behind the products they sell. I guess this is what happens when you buy a diamond from a drawing. I would never buy a house or a car this way but I made the mistake to buy a Blue Nile engagement ring. Customer service before you buy is great but good luck after. I picked from 5 different drawings and somehow I ended up with another diamond, not the one I picked. I am not a jeweler so I don’t have a scope to inspect the ring but once I managed to get one and inspected the diamond I realized I got screwed. I tried to do an exchange even if I had to spend more money but that didn’t go well. In order for Blue Nile to take this stone back I have to buy a new one that’s worth double. Are they kidding me??? Double??? What a joke!!! Now I’m stuck with a diamond I don’t like, no money to buy a new one and frustrated beyond believe. I truly regret buying from Blue Nile. I just threw my money in the garbage.
    People, please be careful. Go and see your diamond. Don’t make such an important purchase such a negative experience. This is a special time in a person’s life don’t let anyone ruin it for you.

  20. Paul Gian-
    April 19, 2016 at 3:14 am

    You do realize Blue Nile has a money back guarantee? Why didn’t you go for that and opted for an exchange instead?

  21. Darren UK-
    May 31, 2016 at 2:17 pm

    Paul

    I am looking at buying a loose diamond, I had thought of Blue Nile but after reading so many negative reviews I am now looking at James Allen

    I have selected what I feel is a nice stone $4,390 us (equates to £2997 uk) I have made sure it was GIA and I spec’d the advanced filters based on what I have learned

    See link below

    Can you please give me your opinion on this stone, my intention would be to buy it (as I have not yet) and get it mounted in the uk

    https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/0.80-carat-e-color-vvs2-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-1091470

  22. Paul Gian-
    May 31, 2016 at 4:12 pm

    Cutwise, this stone is OK. It isn’t great. The Very Good polish and symmetry bothers me. There are better options available. So, why settle for this stone? I’m not sure what the price is because it is listed as unavailable. If this stone is significantly cheaper than other options you look at and within your budget, it is an OK buy.

  23. Laurence-
    June 30, 2016 at 6:48 pm

    I could go on and on but won’t! Ring of of low quality, bought it for close to $5,000 a side stone falls out in less than a month. Got the ring valued by a bluenile buyback partner and they’re valuing it at $1,300, while the bluenile suggested retail value is $6,500. I feel absolutely ripped off!

  24. Mohamed Moshrif-
    July 4, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    I was trying to buy a diamond ring for my engagement and I was planning to send it to my brother in law in Dubai because I live in China which would cost me much more in duties fees.
    The first problem I encountered, is that blue nile doesn’t do home delivery in Dubai and that someone needs to go pick up, no problem, except that they don’t have anyway on their website to actually edit the shipping info and they force you to use the billing info for the name of the person who needs to pick up the ring
    So I placed the order, then called (international call) to the customer service to edit the name (since the local number is only in Chinese and I don’t speak it), and they told me everything is good.
    At that point, I actually showed the photo of the ring to my gf and her family and everyone was happy with it, then later on, I received an email from blue nile to call them again because they need some info before they can proceed with the order.

    I called (twice) to their international number in US, first time they placed me on hold and then I was told to leave a message which I did and no one called back, so I called again and I talked with a very rude representative who basically literally told me: “there have been a business decision not to accept any credit card payments from you, and yes, specifically you!”
    And that the only way to proceed, is for me to do payment via wire transfer, which is basically the kind of payment that gives you ZERO guarantee against scam because you can’t dispute it in case they just decided not to send you anything!!

    Basically, STAY AWAY from them and don’t waste your time in that place!!

  25. Paul Gian-
    July 5, 2016 at 8:52 am

    To be fair, I have encountered this situation personally with other vendors. You have to understand that jewelers are just as afraid of getting scammed as you are. It works both way. BlueNile may not have the best customer service but they are a reliable vendor that honors transactions made.

    They are a publicly listed company and will not go out of the way to destroy their reputation by “scamming” you.

  26. Steve-
    July 15, 2016 at 2:11 am

    I was giving serious consideration to buying an engagement ring from Blue Nile that my girlfriend liked and had been talking with a customer service representative from the company and after thinking about it for a day or two was ready to place the order and called the rep but she was on a day off so I ended up browsing other websites including “beyond 4C’s” and and by the time I was done completing a self taught crash course in buying diamonds that was largely based upon reading through Paul Gian’s articles I ended up buying a fifteen thousand dollar diamond engagement and matching wedding band set at the James Allen website.

    Am I ever glad that I did so after reading through the commentary at the end of this article.

    I was extremely happy with my purchases at the other website but decided to buy an inexpensive ring for myself that I liked from Blue Nile shortly after making my main purchases elsewhere.

    Shortly after purchasing this item and trying to get it directed to a FedEx pickup center I was contacted by Blue Nile and told that they didn’t ship anything to the shipping site that I had selected and that I would have to pay for premium shipping and have it sent to a FedEx pickup site that was considerably further away from me than my first choice.

    I wanted the ring so I agreed to pay for the increased price of shipping.

    A couple of days later I did the drive on my day off work and went to the pickup center and got my ring.

    One of the first things that I noticed is that it looked badly scratched as if it had already been worn for quite some time by someone else. The next thing I noticed is that it was too large for my finger.

    I contacted Blue Nile’s customer service as I was driving home from the pickup center and expressed my concerns and they asked for me to send the ring back.

    I did so and then waited to hear back from them after seeing that they had got the ring back through my tracking number and signature service. Then I waited some more. And, a week after I saw through the tracking number that they had received it I wrote to them and they replied back with a big “Ooooops” and “Sorry” about not getting back to me shortly after receiving the ring. Fortunately for me not only did they agree with me that the ring was badly damaged due to numerous scratches but they also let me know that they had sent me the wrong size of ring. It appears that they had sent me out a used ring that was also the wrong size that they had taken back several weeks earlier. They asked if I wanted a new ring sent out and I declined their offer since I felt that they were hoping that I would pay good money for and accept what had basically become a piece of junk and because of this I asked that I be reimbursed for all of my costs due to their errors.

    I did get my money for the ring back and then I got my money back for the costs of returning the ring. I waited a few months to see if they were going to also return the money that I paid for premium shipping to get the ring. They didn’t so I contacted them and then they did reimburse me for this cost.

    I suspect that they were hoping that I would forget about this expense but I didn’t and informed them that I don’t normally chase after seemingly minor amounts of money but did so completely out of principle.

    So it seems to me that the concept of “serendipity” came into play the day that their customer service representative wasn’t available because I would have purchased a diamond engagement ring worth about twelve thousand dollars that day but she wasn’t available so I ended up shopping around and am extremely happy with the ring that I eventually purchased from James Allen.

    Imagine my displeasure if I got a used engagement ring that was the wrong size along with a diamond that was chipped or cracked and they were hoping that I wouldn’t notice?

    I’ve seen a few other items on Blue Nile’s website and now that I’m a much more cautious shopper when it comes to buying anything from them and look at lots of comparables first I’ve come to notice that if you are willing to look around you will probably find the exact same piece of jewelry elsewhere for at least half if not one fifth the price they are asking at Blue Nile even for items on sale.

    For example, my girlfriend is getting a beautiful pair of amethyst earrings for her birthday that cost me twenty dollars. The exact same set of earrings were “for sale” for over one hundred dollars on Blue Nile’s website.

    I have an electronic paper trail of emails and paper copies of shipping receipts to back up everything that I am saying here.

    As a final note let me say that I did avail myself of Paul Gian’s expertise when it comes to selecting a diamond and after he reviewed and approved of my final selections I moved forward and made a purchase at James Allen.

    Their viewing technology and ability to send you detailed analysis of every one of their diamonds is astounding and of great benefit in making such an important decision.

    Thanks Again Paul!!!

  27. Paul Gian-
    July 15, 2016 at 2:58 am

    Thanks for sharing your story and experience with BlueNile.com. It’s common for vendors to make mistakes or boo-boos once in a while. In fact, everyone does at some point in time. It’s how they pick up the pieces after that which will reveal how much a company cares about their customers.

    Blue Nile is a pretty big corporation and many things are departmentalized. While they did make good on their money back guarantee, it did take quite a while for them to fix things for you. Anyway, I’m glad the issue has been settled. If it hasn’t fully been resolved, let me know again. I’ll direct you to someone over at BlueNile to help you out.

  28. Steve-
    July 19, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    Hi Paul,

    My apologies for the delay in responding to your offer to assist me but it was on purpose.

    I was waiting to see if Blue Nile was going to respond to my request for a complete and full refund of all monies paid and if they would follow through thereafter and I saw on my credit card statement that they have indeed returned all monies paid as promised.

    So thank you for your offer of assistance but it won’t be necessary.

    I would like to add that I agree with you that any company can make mistakes although sending me a scratched and scuffed up ring that was a couple of sizes too big seems to be at the outer limits of a mere “boo-boo” however I really need to say something here.

    Throughout my dealings with Blue Nile I have been speaking with and corresponding with a customer service representative named Jessyca and she has been fantastic.

    I’d even add in other descriptives like courteous, smart and eager to help and make things right when describing her.

    If every one of Blue Nile’s staff was like her I wouldn’t even deal with any other companies ever.

    Thanks again Paul.

    Steve

  29. Theodore-
    August 23, 2016 at 3:51 pm

    Hey Paul,

    First off, wanted to thank you for you website and forum (i.e comments section)

    Much appreciated collection of knowledge for an elaborate market.

    I’m looking of coarse to buy a diamond online, and I have read the reviews for Blue Nile as well as James Allen.

    At the moment, I’m looking at these 2 stones and wondering if you would be able to highlight or comment further on any concerns.

    The downside to Blue Nile one is what you’ve mentioned numerous times on your site, that is, no visuals, pictures, ASET, Idealscope, etc…

    But on paper this looks like a good diamond, 1.50 , H , VVS1, xxx, HCA: 0.8 . (to me anyway)

    http://www.bluenile.com/ca/diamond-details/LD07364077

    My reservation with the James Allen stone is that the HCA tool calculated a 2.4 Very Good. (but not excellent)

    1.53, H , VVS1, xxx, HCA: 2.4

    https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.53-carat-h-color-vvs1-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-1984495

    Wondering if you could shed any further light.

    Thanks.

    Theodore

  30. Paul Gian-
    August 24, 2016 at 12:48 am

    Why are you taking the risk to buy a diamond blind from BlueNile when there are so many better ways to go about shopping for a diamond. If you want to shop at BlueNile, I recommend that you shop within their signature lines: http://www.bluenile.com/ca/diamonds/signature-ideal-diamonds

    As an example, this is a fantastic diamond with great light performance and is eyeclean: http://www.bluenile.com/atransfer.jsp?sourceid=102642&goto=%2Fca%2Fdiamond-details%2FLD07384437

    This series of diamonds have photographs to give you a better idea of what you are actually looking at and they are also curated for better light performance.

    With regards to the James Allen diamond, I could say the same as well. There are so many better options available in James Allen. Why do you restrict yourself to this one single diamond with mediocre proportions? ( The high crown angle is a cause for immediate rejection). Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a terrible or ugly diamond, it’s just that you can easily find better options at James Allen.

    I did a search and this would be a diamond I would recommend at James Allen: https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.50-carat-h-color-vs2-clarity-ideal-cut-sku-1925503

Leave A Comment