Enchanted Diamonds Review

*The last update to the review was written in Oct 2016 and is outdated. Given the current situation that is unfolding, it has been taken down. If I get any new info, I will update this page accordingly.

15th June 2019 – NOTE: Enchanted Diamonds has been uncontactable over the past few days. I’m not sure what has transpired or what is going on. Currently, I am trying to get in touch with them to no avail. Until things get resolved or there is further clarity into the situation, readers are adviced NOT to buy any diamonds or perform any transactions on their website.

19th June 2019 – Details are still scant. The last known message received on 16th June was that they were attempting to “restart” business and to respond to clients. Till date, there is no action taken on their part to resolve client issues and they are still silent. Their website has gone dark as well and it doesn’t bode well. For people who want to seek legal recourse at this point in time, drop a message to me.

21st June 2019 – Enchanted Diamonds is reportedly in the process of filing for bankruptcy. JCK has a report on that here: https://www.jckonline.com/editorial-article/enchanted-diamonds-liquidates/

Share This Page on Social Media!

51 Comments

  1. Avatar
    Carolyn L. Warden-
    February 7, 2015 at 7:45 am

    Enchanted Diamonds seem to be marketing a feature on their site called the “Cut Score Calculator”. I’m shopping for a round diamond and happened to come across it on their website here: https://beyond4cs.com/go/enchanted-cut-score-calculator/

    While browsing their website, I noticed that the search results can be filtered and sorted by Cut Score. However, I’m not very sure about how it works. Does it mean that if I select a stone with a 100% score, I am guaranteed of a good looking stone? Please let me know asap as I plan on buying a diamond within the next week.

  2. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    February 8, 2015 at 3:48 pm

    First of all, the cut score is an algorithm that is developed by Enchanted Diamonds to calculate the theoretical light return of the diamond based on it’s proportions. From my understanding, they had also factored their own preferences of what makes a beautiful diamond into the tool. One thing I’m pretty sure of is that whatever “science” they use isn’t disclosed and vetted by scientific people in the trade.

    I personally don’t put any weight to that tool and you can ignore what it tells you especially if you are buying a fancy cut diamond. Instead of using that tool, I recommend using the ASET to evaluate a diamond’s brightness. This tool is developed by AGS and is well vetted by the scientific community. And unlike Enchanted Diamond’s Cut Score tool, the methodology of the ASET is transparent and not hushed up as “trade secret”.

  3. Avatar
    Sandy-
    February 15, 2015 at 7:54 am

    Great review! What’s your opinion on the quality of the craftsmanship? I’m thinking of getting a customized ring setting design from them.

  4. Avatar
    Dale D.-
    February 15, 2015 at 9:53 am

    Thanks for the detailed review on Enchanted Diamonds. I love the wealth of information your site is providing and to be honest, I’m a huge fan of yours now. I’ve been browsing Enchanted Diamonds for some time now and had been using Beyond4Cs.com as my research bible.

    So far, I had only heard of the ASET evaluation as a means to determine a diamond’s cut and I had read through a few papers about it on AGS’s website. Here’s my question: is the Sarine Light just a gimmicky marketing tool created to help retailers sell their wares or is it really useful?

    I’ve seen the Sarine videos posted on the site and I thought they were really impressive. Also, have you heard of the GemEx tool as well? One of my local dealers gave me a demonstration in store and the diamond really sparkled like mad.

  5. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    February 16, 2015 at 1:23 am

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. First of all, I would classify the Sarine Light report as “good to have” but it isn’t a mandatory tool for me when I shop for diamonds. That said, I generally concur with what the Sarine Light says about a diamond’s optical performance.

    However, I would put more weight on ASET evaluations and an AGS light performance report mainly because it is a tool and technique that has already been validated by the scientific community.

    The upside of the Sarine Light tool is that it offers a captured video of the diamond in extreme spotlighting conditions. To some extent, this offers you form of visualization of the diamond and does give you some perspective of what you are buying.

    In my opinion, both GemEx & Sarine Light are somewhat similar. You can get some information of the GemEx tool in one of the sections under this link: https://beyond4cs.com/reviews/leo-diamond/

  6. Avatar
    Frankie-
    March 2, 2015 at 6:00 pm

    I’m curious why Enchanted Diamonds offers diamonds that can’t be returned. Some of these diamonds that are listed are really cheap based on my research thus far.

    Is there anything wrong with those diamonds because I think the deals are too good to be true.

  7. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    March 3, 2015 at 8:04 am

    I’m not sure about the exact specifics as to why these diamonds cannot be returned. It could be due to different agreements or contracts they have with their suppliers. From the last time I checked with EnchantedDiamonds.com, the reasons they gave me were that these diamonds originated from international suppliers and had already incurred fees like VAT and custom duties.

    Because of the non-refundable nature, there’s always some risk involved. Before you commit to a purchase, make sure you fully understand what you are buying. Always check directly with the vendor if you aren’t sure. If you need advice on any particular diamond, feel free to contact me via email.

  8. Avatar
    Charlie-
    July 20, 2015 at 9:53 pm

    People viewing diamonds as investment should be cautioned against any stones of types widely held by the public, as a large scale dumping of diamonds in an economic depression will transpire. In the best of times, only professionals can buy and sell diamonds and make profits. As one of many items they should notice, see the price jump that starts at the five carat level, over the 4 range. A carbide tip pen across the table might be a good tool to see if a coating has been applied to make the gem appear whiter. HPHT gems are not investments! I hope readers appreciate that I didn’t embed the tedious term “vetted” in those four sentences as these are neither veterinary nor military matters.

  9. Avatar
    Ray LaMonica-
    December 9, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    Paul,

    I have been researching diamonds for the past week, several hours a day and im starting to lose my mind.

    I found a diamond on James Allen, #767790 that I like, and I found an ASET image on Enchanted Diamonds of the same diamond. https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R140-HTKPE2

    Can you look at it and let me know if it looks good. Also, it is $2400 cheaper on James Allen. I am a little thrown off by that…im guessing that neither owns the stone, but James Allen may have found out there is something wrong with it. Thoughts?

    Also, can you check out #758382

    Also, should i stay away from the True Hearts diamonds? I like the dimensions/proportions, but why do they only give this label to AGS stones.

  10. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    December 10, 2015 at 12:16 am

    The James Allen diamond, https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.40-carat-j-color-vvs2-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-767790, is indeed the same diamond. There’s nothing wrong with the stone and it is pretty well cut. As for the price discrepancies, there could be many reasons…

    1) Different vendors work with different suppliers at different margins.
    2) Price isn’t listed correctly.
    etc…

    https://beyond4cs.com/go/ja/ => SKU:758382 is a diamond that is very well cut. I think it is a better option than the 1.40 VVS2 in terms of overall cut quality as well as better value for money. I am geared towards this 1.51 carat diamond.

    True Hearts is a signature line of diamonds curated by James Allen. The majority of these stones are AGS graded and are subjected to ray tracing analysis to determine light performance.

  11. Avatar
    Adrian-
    January 31, 2016 at 6:56 pm

    Paul – thanks for your very helpful website. I’m looking at this diamond on Enchanted Diamond: https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R120-35HR7D

    Can you help me determine whether it has a good ASET chart? Per your article, I don’t want to place too much weight on Enchanted Diamond’s cut score.

    Thanks!

  12. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    February 1, 2016 at 2:33 am

    That’s a mediocre stone. Dump it. Enchanted Diamond’s cut score isn’t accurate. You can ignore that as well.

  13. Avatar
    Tim-
    February 9, 2016 at 8:48 am

    Hi Paul – A good friend of mine put this https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R140-SUD2HG on hold / order

    Could you please provide some opinions? There is no ASET but all specs are in good ranges.

    Any better stones similar to this?

    Thanks!

  14. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    February 9, 2016 at 3:29 pm
  15. Avatar
    Tim-
    February 9, 2016 at 4:44 pm

    Thank Paul!

    What made the first not good/great?

    I also concerned about the J color. I though I should be the max for round.

    Tim

  16. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    February 10, 2016 at 10:01 am

    The crown angles are a tad too high. It’s still a great looking stone though.

  17. Avatar
    Ray-
    February 11, 2016 at 5:35 pm

    Hey Paul,

    I’ve been looking into purchasing a diamond and ran into this site. It’s been very helpful with my research as well as which online vendors are reputable. I wanted to get your opinion on a couple of diamonds as I narrow down which one I intend to purchase. Thanks!

    2.41-2.51
    1. https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R241-HL1B1L

    2.25-2.3
    2.https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R225-8XYEMU
    3. https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/2.30-carat-g-color-vs1-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-876741

    Also, why is there such a price discrepancy between 2 and 3?

  18. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    February 12, 2016 at 4:09 am

    The price differences are actually insignificant. It’s only about 2% differences in absolute value. Anyway, both diamonds #2 and #3 aren’t well cut enough for me to recommend them in good faith.

    It’s the same case for diamond #1. None of the stones you selected are well cut. I recommend that you dump all 3.

    It’s better for you to get in touch with me via email.

  19. Avatar
    Aaron Monahan-
    February 23, 2016 at 1:06 pm

    Thoughts about this?

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R156-MFDFCS

    Also- out of our price range but is this eye clean? JW for research.

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R203-TQAN5E

  20. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    February 24, 2016 at 3:17 am

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R156-MFDFCS => Cut looks good but strong fluorescence may be an issue. Check for haziness with vendor.

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R203-TQAN5E => Looks to be the better choice.

    Both stones are 100% eyeclean.

  21. Avatar
    heather kranick-
    April 19, 2016 at 5:25 pm

    How is this one? Will it be sparkly? Eye clean?

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R170-LM6YTU

  22. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    April 20, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    That’s an extremely well cut diamond and it has top of the line optics and precision. Great find!

  23. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    May 5, 2016 at 1:26 am
  24. Avatar
    Kevin-
    November 24, 2016 at 7:30 pm

    Paul,

    Thank you so much for all of the extremely helpful information you provide.

    I have an appointment at Enchanted Diamonds next week in New York, and was browsing their collection.

    I am looking for something like this:

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R144-410934318

    My budget is around $12k for the diamond and I’m looking for a round solitaire between 1.3-1.7 karats.

    Do you have any diamonds you would recommend on their website?

    Thank you again.

  25. Avatar
    reo-
    April 28, 2017 at 3:27 pm

    Paul, any diamond earrings you can recommend between 3-4k only?
    thank you.

  26. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    April 29, 2017 at 7:03 am

    Drop me an email with your specs and I will do a search to help you out.

  27. Avatar
    Catherine-
    September 9, 2017 at 4:23 am

    I took all your recommendations into all the parameters of a brilliant diamond, and I was wondering if this is a good deal and good quality round diamond (It has a HCA = 1.6):

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R130-604123487

    ALSO, is brilliance.com a reliable diamond purchasing website?

    Thank you!!!

  28. Avatar
    Catherine-
    September 9, 2017 at 4:55 am

    Or is this one better from Brilliance.com ? It has HCA of 0.8.

    brilliance.com/loose-diamonds/round/1-25-carat-e-color-super-ideal-make-vs1-clarity-gia-certified-SKU-D13744287

  29. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    September 9, 2017 at 8:07 am

    Brilliance is a reliable vendor. The problem with them is that they don’t provide any tangible data on their listings which makes shopping extremely hard and risky.

    This diamond here is well cut for light performance and is eyeclean: https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R130-604123487

    I guess you can obviously see the big difference in ease of shopping. The ASET shows a diamond with strong light return.

  30. Avatar
    Dani-
    September 11, 2017 at 2:42 am

    Paul , thanks very much on all education you are providing to all of us and helping us make great decisions for our money.
    I would appreciate if you provide me some guidance on princes cut . Also, what is your opinion on this particular stone ? What are the most important aspects when purchasing a princes cut stone?
    Thanks!

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/S171-056758681

  31. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    September 11, 2017 at 8:28 am

    Cut quality and light performance are the key attributes I look out for when buying a princess cut diamond. Personally speaking, the stone you picked has a very thin girdle which bothers me because of durability factors.

  32. Avatar
    Will-
    October 18, 2017 at 1:17 pm

    Thank you for the great information, Paul! I’ve been looking online at various diamonds and I was wondering if you could provide some expert advice. I’ve narrowed my search down to the two following stones.

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/Round/GIA-Certified-1-08-Carat-J-Color-VS1-Clarity-Diamond-315025301

    I really like the idealscope but I’m worried it won’t be eye clean.

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/Round/GIA-Certified-1-13-Carat-J-Color-VS1-Clarity-Diamond-634673834

    This is my other choice which looks to be eye clean but doesn’t have any floure so I hope it’s not yellowish in person. Thanks in advance for your help!

  33. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    October 18, 2017 at 3:17 pm

    Let me tell you that both these diamonds are 100% eyeclean. You will not be able to see the inclusions with your naked eyes. The 2nd diamond (1.13 J VS1) is the much better cut diamond than the first stone.

  34. Avatar
    Jen-
    October 18, 2017 at 4:32 pm

    Hi Paul,

    Thank you for all of the guidance you provide when shopping for a diamond.  Can you provide us your opinion on this one.

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R152-679107158

    I have made a request to the company to get the ASET And Idealscope Images.  I was told they will ask the supplier and send the info.  We have been using your “ideal proportions for round diamonds” with every stone we look at!

    Thanks,
    Jen

  35. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    October 19, 2017 at 4:46 am

    The diamond’s table a tad large and the cloud inclusions does bother me a little due to the possibility of causing haziness.

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R152-679107158

    Let me know when the ASET arrives.

    Anyway, I did a search for you and would actually recommend this diamond instead. This is much better cut for light performance and is eyeclean.

    https://enchanteddiamonds.com/diamonds/view/R155-561954716

  36. Avatar
    Kitz-
    November 16, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    Hi Paul,
    I’m in NYC now looking at diamond engagement rings. I’ve been looking at stones online for weeks trying to determine the best and largest stone I can purchase for around $75,000. I would like to pay less and would also pay a little more for something that makes sense.
    1) For color, I hope that F will be my lowest but would consider G.
    2) I’d rather have a better cut (sparkle) than a larger dull stone.
    3) I would sacrifice clarity to SI1 at lowest for a larger stone (if I could not see any major flaws with my eyes)
    4) I’m leaning towards Oval, elongated Cushion and possibly Pear and would appreciate your opinion and suggestions on what would be my best options.
    5) I think I could get a 4 carat with my parameters but would like larger if possible.
    I’m going to see if I can get a last minute appointment with Enchanted and James Allen today or tomorrow while I’m here.
    Thank you for any help or advice you can give. :)

  37. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    November 19, 2017 at 3:19 am

    Give Joshua a call and see if he can set you up with an appointment. For large sized diamonds like these, they may require some time to handle the logistics of bringing the diamond over to the office for viewing.

  38. Avatar
    Lily-
    November 22, 2017 at 5:11 am

    Hi Paul,

    My bf and I have started engagement ring shopping and have been learning so much from the internet as well as through our shopping. However, Ive noticed that certain jewelers state the cut is the most important C. I guess my question is if I get an excellent or very good cut with a H or J color is that better than getting a good cut with a color G? I was attempting to stay within G, VS2, very good or good at least, and 1.25 ct. I want to know where I can play with the 4 cs to minimize the price while not compromizing the carat size or the quality or the diamond. We are attempting to stay within $8,000-$10,000.

    Thanks!

  39. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    November 22, 2017 at 12:53 pm

    Neither. Getting a Very Good or Good cut rating from GIA is an indication that the diamonds aren’t well cut. The baseline is to start with an Excellent cut and start weeding out the lesser stones from there. I would recommend you to check out Enchanted Diamonds first to get an idea of how diamonds are priced. You can also see the variance in cut quality across the market in their inventory. The good thing is, Enchanted Diamonds do offer diamonds with tangible data and that helps you in making educated purchase decisions.

    https://beyond4cs.com/truth-about-gia-triple-excellent-diamonds/

  40. Avatar
    Joshua-
    June 14, 2019 at 5:23 pm

    Buyer Beware!!!

    Hold onto your money and do not make any purchases on their website.

    Not sure what is going on with the company but they are not returning any communication right now. I completed my purchase on 5/25 and was told my diamond would be in this week and the ring would be completed 5 days after the diamond comes in. Now I cannot speak to anyone to see what the status is. I saw a lot of great reviews but not a lot of transparency now. I’ve tried reaching out to Josh but no answer from him either. I’ve tried contacting someone for several days now through either live chat, with no answer, and currently the number listed on their webpage has also been disconnected. I’ve sent several emails along with a reply to the most my recent email from a representative and still no answer.

  41. Avatar
    Jamie-
    June 15, 2019 at 10:03 pm

    I purchased with them on 3 June – cost me all my savings. I’m based in Europe and flying over next week as a surprise. No answer to calls or emails. Very worrying.

  42. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    June 16, 2019 at 4:09 am

    I’m sorry to hear about the experience. Like you, I’m actually surprised at the sudden turn of events. The lack of support is something that appalls me as a shopper and is a worrying thing. At the moment, there’s little communication between the business but I don’t want to jump into conclusions on a weekend without knowing what’s really going on.

  43. Avatar
    Jamie-
    June 16, 2019 at 9:45 am

    Thanks for the reply Paul – I received a holding email from the yesterday which was rather vaguely (possibly deliberately) drafted to say “we apologize for the delay in your order and are hopeful that we will have a plan to resume operations on Monday”. So not entirely clear if they are hoping to resume on Monday or hopeful they have a plan on Monday to resume sometime in the future (and who knows what that means). I will keep you posted if I hear anything and, equally, if you do, please let me know, as it’s very stressful and I can’t help thinking I’ve just thrown a load of money down the drain….

  44. Avatar
    Norman Davis-
    June 19, 2019 at 10:03 pm

    What happened to Enchanted Diamonds? That is really weird how a place just shuts down like that. Doesn’t make sense. Any deliberate move to change locations would have been planned out better. For the phone, website, and location to just shut down at once means something bad had to have happened.

  45. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    June 20, 2019 at 3:59 am

    Norman, I don’t have concrete details at this point in time. Given the recent events (or non-responsive actions), it doesn’t bode well for clients. At this point, it is starting to look like they are going to default on their orders but this is speculation. If you were a client or bought something recently that went unfulfilled, get in touch with me via email.

  46. Avatar
    Norman Davis-
    June 21, 2019 at 5:53 pm
  47. Avatar
    Meera-
    August 15, 2019 at 6:57 pm

    Hi Paul – my fiancé bought my diamond from Enchanted diamonds back in March. The ring came and in and i absolutely love it! My question is, with the recent events happening of the stores closing what does that mean for people who have their diamonds? Is our certificate valid? Should be get our diamond checked out at another jeweler for accuracy? Thank you!

  48. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    August 16, 2019 at 3:14 am

    The certificates will be valid and you should have the correct diamond. The GIA grading report is evaluated independently and has no connections with any vendor. So, you are definitely fine there. If you need a peace of mind, just get the ring checked out. I have no doubt it will be what was stated on the grading report.

  49. Avatar
    Alison-
    August 18, 2019 at 7:29 pm

    I have an engagement from enchanted diamonds earlier this year and I was supposed to get a free wedding band up to 0.65 tcw along with it as part of the deal. The person I was working with to get my band designed was hard to reach and eventually he stopped emailing me back at all. I was told this offer would never expire and I had until my wedding day (next year) to finish my design with their team. Do you think there’s any way I’d get anything back on that offer? Thanks so much for your help and the info above on my current ring.

  50. Avatar
    Paul Gian-
    August 19, 2019 at 3:08 am

    Unfortunately, the news is that Enchanted Diamonds went out of business (bankruptcy). I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news but the deal and offer will probably not be upheld.

Leave A Comment